Oct 062013
 

With the recent discussions on Facebook and throughout the online drum corps community, we would like to share with our alumni constituents some of the information we’ve recently been able to extract from the Glassmen Board of Directors and steps we’ve taken.

In our first year as an alumni association, we’ve been overwhelmed with the support we’ve received in our endeavors. Even those who cannot give money or participate in person are constantly giving us feedback, generating ideas, and in general keeping the Glassmen name alive by sharing our collective history and connecting across generations of alumni. The way all of you have begun to fulfill the initial vision of the Glassmen Alumni Association has been outstanding. Because of this support, we have taken another step forward and submitted our paperwork to file for 501(c)(3) nonprofit status. This will allow us to continue to operate in an independent capacity as an organization.

The Glassmen Board of Directors has informed us that they intend to address alumni, volunteers and supporters soon with updates. Despite the frustration with a lack of communication from the board, which we share with you, we advise alumni to avoid reacting to rumors and hearsay and instead wait for information from official Glassmen sources. At this time we can only speculate as to what the future of the Glassmen Junior Drum & Bugle Corps will bring, but we have discussed the various options at length. Regardless of the outcome, we plan to preserve the Glassmen experience for future performers. Please be assured that even in the worst-case scenario, we have spent the past year preparing to implement a contingency plan.

In the meantime, we are all available by e-mail or Facebook if you have questions for us or simply wish to chat about recent events. We will also continue to post recaps of our meetings online at www.glassmenalumni.org.

Please stay tuned for information about our new all-inclusive online space for Glassmen supporters at www.glassmenexperience.com.

Thank you,

The Glassmen Alumni Association Board of Directors

Jamison Eige (’88-91), President
president@glassmenalumni.org

Kyle Snavely (’98-’02), Vice President
vicepresident@glassmenalumni.org

Liz Von Allmen (’95-’97) Treasurer
treasurer@glassmenalumni.org

Brian Clark (’86-’88), Secretary
secretary@glassmenalumni.org

Erin Carr (’96-00), Corps Liaison
liaison@glassmenalumni.org

Dawn Studebaker (’90-94), Fundraising
fundraising@glassmenalumni.org

Jenny Tilley (’01-02), Communications
communications@glassmenalumni.org

Chris Ortleib (’98-99), Historian
historian@glassmenalumni.org

Kim Nash (’97-99), Events
events@glassmenalumni.org

 Posted by at 10:26 PM

NextGEN Public Uploader by WebDevStudios